The Horrors of Haunting and Other Fine Messes

So, by the end of July, I had a writing schedule through the end of the year all planned out. I had my episodic cozy series book to finish (Opera House Ops), a romance to write that was already plotted out (and with a very rough first draft completed) and a new Morelville mystery to write that was mostly plotted out except for the final reveal. Beyond those things, I had a couple of short stories I had ideas for and a lesfic YA novella that I had a plot for that I also hoped to get to. I was hitting a daily word count easily to work the first three projects simultaneously. Cake!

NOT!

Life so gets in the way even when the best laid plans are in place and we think we’re ready to fly. Things changed drastically at my day job requiring lots more hours from me for the next couple of months at a minimum. My wife is experiencing a minor but ongoing medical issue which is both frustrating and slightly debilitating for her at times, making her less able to cope with the needs of managing the build out of our haunted house. And, well other things and other people just don’t always do what they say they will or what you hoped they would.

LogoOh, for those of you that are new around here, we own a haunted house…yes, you read that right. It’s Hagan’s House of Horrors, a commercial, for profit entertainment attraction and, for this year, it’s all new and right in our back yard. We don’t have far to go to work on stuff which is both a positive and, sometimes, a negative. On top of my marketing, financing and other duties for that, I’m also often out there ‘decorating’ or painting or doing other such things to help get us ready for our October 1st season open given the previously mentioned health problems and other issues that are beyond our ability to control.

Opera House Ops: The Morelville Cozies – Book 2 is releasing. That’s the good news. It’s coming out as an episode a week for 10 weeks. Episode 5: Pants on Fire, released late last night. Here’s the brief synopsis for the episode: op-ops-e5

Something’s burning! Is it arson or just an unfortunate coincidence?

They are coming out on schedule, every Friday (mostly – last week I didn’t get it loaded until Tuesday so it came out Saturday). The first five episodes are available in electronic form exclusively for the Kindle and free via Kindle Unlimited. The link and the cover picture will take you right to Episode 5 at Amazon. If you missed the first four, check out the Opera House Ops page here for more details.

That was the good news…

Everyone is waiting for ‘Healing Embrace‘, the sequel to Broken Women, I know, I know. It’s supposed to be out by the end of this month. I’m sorry to say, it won’t be. The first draft is done and I’m about a third of the way through the second draft. If I get back to normal writing time after this big push weekend, this weekend to finish the haunt build – fingers crossed – it could be proofed and released in mid to late October. That, of course, pushes back the release of the next Morelville Mystery tentatively titled, The Turkey Tussle. The intent was to have that out by Thanksgiving. That might be a stretch since it’s only plotted. Sorry!

I’m still getting writing time every day but it’s 1,000 words or so worth instead of the 3,500+ I needed to stay on track. Oh well… At least I can hope for a great haunt season, right? We’ve worked really hard and spent a ton on advertising. We’re hoping to see several thousand guests go through and get the wits scared out of them. Bwaa ha ha ha ha!

 

 

 

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Books, Haunting, Opera House Ops and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

