A Break from Writing – Again – for Kickstarter

Since I got back from vacation, I’ve been working with a vengeance. I hope to have Broken Women out for those of you that agreed to do advance reviews here in the next two weeks. I still have a few hard copies left and a couple digital for anyone that can do an honest review on Amazon US pre the release of the ebook. Hit me up via the contact form or on Facebook. Meanwhile though, my wife’s dream – haunted house ownership – has stepped to the forefront again.

We own and operate Hagan’s House of Horrors. If you’ve read my cozy mystery, ‘The Passed Prop‘, featuring the two main moms from the lesfic The Morelville Mysteries series, Faye and Chloe, you’ve gotten a little taste of what it’s like to run a haunt.

The Passed Prop Book Cover

Last year, we leased space to run the haunted house in because the building we expected to be in wasn’t ready. This year, said building is now ready but a lawsuit brought by a disgruntled former bidder for it against the entity selling it to the community we live in has it tied up in court. That could drag on for years.

We want to build on the momentum we had last year both literally and figuratively. We decided to build our own building and we started saving and raising the funds to do that. We have about 1/3rd of what we need. Because we’re a very new business with only a year of commercial operation under our belts, we can’t get a bank loan to finance the rest of new build…funny how that works, isn’t it? You’ve got to really not need the money to get it.

Logo

Anyway, we’ve decided to do a Kickstarter campaign to try and raise another 1/3rd of the funds. The rest we’ll fund as we go if we don’t exceed our Kickstarter goal of $7,990. Working on this has taken up some of the time I’d usually use for writing but haunting is a passion too and we really hope to be able to do it on a grand scale this year rather than scaled back for lack of funding to do it the way we want to do it. I’m currently burning the candle at both ends but it’s all for passions I believe in.

The campaign goes live this Monday, April 4th. After that, I’ll be able to divide my time a little more equally. If you’re interested in haunted houses, I’d love it if you’d take a look at the campaign. If it’s in your heart to help us out with the build – and scoop up some cool rewards for your patronage – I’d appreciate it. If you could share this message on your social networks to others who might be interested, I’d love that too. A dollar or ten or a share with others – it all adds up!

Questions can be directed to me through the contact form here or to me via at admin@HagansHouseOfHorrors.com. Thank you for your support!

 

 

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Haunting, The Passed Prop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

