Holiday Surprise – The Trans-Siberian Orchestra

Beginning in mid November, for the last 14 or 15 years, I’ve watched television commercial after commercial about the Tran-Siberian Orchestra (TSO)and their holiday show in Columbus, Ohio that is usually in town right before or right after Christmas. I’ve remarked in the past that I’d like to see the show at some point but, despite what TSO advertises and the articles written about it, the shows tend to be a little pricey and, since they’re always during Christmas week around here, it’s not the ideal timing to drop well over $100 on a couple of tickets. I resigned myself to watching online videos rather than ever seeing a showing of the Christmas themed rock opera live.
Trans Siberian Orchestra

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with my family in Western PA this year. The plan had originally been to stay over Christmas Day and return home on Saturday the 26th. That plan sort of fell through a couple weeks before Christmas. We knew we’d be returning home late on Christmas Day. Unknown to me, my wonderful wife then set a plan in motion to get tickets for the December 26th matinee show (the evening show was sold out by that time and the matinee almost was) and not let me find out about it until the 25th. She actually coordinated with my mother to have her hand me the tickets from a Christmas present from her to my mom. How sneaky is that?!

We had a nice afternoon together on December 26th with lunch in Columbus and then a 2 1/2 hour plus amazing show by the band. If you’re a rock music fan who also likes Christmas music and/or a fan of massive stage productions, you’ll absolutely love it. If you’ve got kids or grand-kids under the age of 18, I guarantee it will be an experience that will make them see ‘your music’ a lot differently.

TSO Overhead

My wife enjoyed the show too but, as a mid-life die hard country music fan with a favorite singer in Reba McIntyre, she wasn’t quite as enthusiastic as I was. She thoroughly enjoyed the first half of the show but, as they pulled out all the tricks for a second time, with no intermission in between halves of the program, she started to lose interest, especially as the sold out, tightly packed arena temperature rose.

The TSO show isn’t a show that’s completely for everyone but there seems to be something there that everyone can enjoy. There were a few small groups that got up and left once the more Christmas themed first half of the program was over and there were also several groups we noted who came in well into the 1st half of the program as if they were more interested in the new TSO music to be performed later. It’s obvious people have started to come to know the habits of the band well as they’ve played to audiences here year after year.

I do want to mention that our thoughts and prayers and those of the 15,000+ others in the arena are with the gentleman that went into cardiac arrest during the show and his family. We sincerely hope that he has recovered or is recovering.

~~~

For this last week of the year, I’m offering Book 4 in the lesfic themed Morelville Mysteries series, Hitched and Tied for sale exclusively at Amazon (U.S. and U.K.) for $.99.  It’s most popular book in the series as it features not only a great  murder mystery, but also brings the relationship between Sheriff Melissa ‘Mel’ Crane and Dana Rossi full circle. And, for reasons that will only become clear when you read the book, Holstein steers abound in the story line…

Hitched and Tied Cover

 

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
Quote | This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

