Why Dana Got a Boston Terrier

Happy Friday the 13th! It’s the 3rd and final one for this year and, it almost goes without saying, a day us haunted house entrepreneurs love…too bad one of the three didn’t fall on a Friday when our haunt was open in October!

Enough of that…I want to talk to you about dogs today. Specifically, I want to talk about Boston Terriers. Some people say their cute, some say their ugly…I say whatever. I never owned one but I’m a dog lover and I think they are A) Adorable and B) Funny as Hell!

In the fifth book in the Morelville Mysteries series, Viva Mama Rossi!,* Dana’s Mama Chloe Rossi gets her a dog. Don’t tell me that I forgot to say “Spoiler Alert”. You already read the title; if you haven’t read book five yet, you had to have figured out that Dana must get a dog at some point. Anyway, Chloe gets her daughter a Boston Terrier. ‘She’ chooses the breed because it’s lively and fun and she thinks it will be just what Dana needs to lift her spirits. The dog doesn’t play  a major role in that book but it gets a little more billing in the first book of the Morelville Cozies series (that was just released), The Passed Prop.* Her terrier, ‘Boo’, will get a larger role in Book 6 of the Mysteries series, to be released in early December of this year, ‘A Crane Christmas‘.

Boston Terrier Dog

I’ve had big dogs and little dogs in my life. My most recent dog was a pug (RIP Caesar). He had a good run but this summer, his 11th, he was really struggling badly with multiple health problems. We had him put down humanely. It was one of the most heart wrenching things I’ve ever had to do. I just try to remember the good times, especially from ages 1-4, when he was a ball of energy.

As much as Caesar was a ball of fire when he was young, most Boston Terriers are all of the time. If you’ve never seen them at their craziest, just check out these videos:

I LOVE the balloon one. One day, when my son was in high school, I’d dropped him off at school and was headed to work. I got caught behind an elementary school bus that was stopping on a busy road every 30 yards to pick kids up. At one stop, a mom was waiting with her little girl and three Boston terriers. She gave the three terriers a red balloon and between them, they went totally stupid over it. I laughed about those three little dogs all day. Every time I went by that house after that, I looked for them but she never had them out there again that I noticed.

When it was time for me to write a dog into the story, I wrote a Boston terrier in on purpose. It wasn’t even a question what I was going to pick. Check out the videos above and you’ll see why and, if you’re so inclined, check out Viva Mama Rossi! and The Passed Prop too and see what ‘Boo’ gets herself up to… Bigger Boo doings are coming in future stories.

Do you have a Boston? How about sharing your videos? I’d love to see them!

*I get a tiny commission from Amazon if you use this link to go and look at the book and then you end up buying something from Amazon while you’re there. I get a much bigger cut (royalty) of the actual sale if what you buy is my book!

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Characters, Viva Mama Rossi! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

