On Not Writing – NaNoWriMo

Happy Veterans Day!

I’m a 22 year vet of the U.S. Army and the Army National Guard. On this day, I salute all of my former and current brothers and sisters in arms. Be proud of what you do; I’m certainly proud to have served and I’m proud of all of you.

I committed myself earlier this year to participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) which happens every November. For 30 days, writers work hard to put 50,000 or more words on paper, a standard short novel or the basis for a much longer one. I knew I was going to be done with my last project, The Passed Prop, by November so I planned on giving it a go. 50,000 words is a good length for one of my cozy novels and it’s darn close to being a full novel for one on my Morelville Mysteries series books which having either a more complicated mystery or a mystery with romance plot threads too, tend to be between 62,000 and 73,000 words. With a plot firmly cemented in my mind for one of either type of book, I figured I could nail it.

I was wrong…so far

My wife, God love her, begged me to give her one more week after we closed the haunted house, Hagan’s House of Horrors, at midnight on the 31st of October (1st of November). We had two weeks to get it out of the building we had it in. She swore she wanted to be out by Saturday, November 7th. Fair enough – I gave her the week. The 7th stretched into the 8th and we ended up working into the night then but we got it done… totally vacant building…

Empty Haunted House

On the 9th, I looked at my word count. Because we spent all day Sunday the 1st, evenings all week and all day Saturday and Sunday the 7th and 8th doing tear down and cleaning things and packing them away, I managed just shy of 5,000 words. Frankly, I’m surprised I managed any at all. The 9th and the 10th, I got some admin stuff done and paid a little attention to marketing, something I’d neglected since August when we started building the haunt. Still, I managed to eke out another 2,000 words. I knew I’d be off today for Veteran’s Day so the plan was to take care of a few household things and then sit down to write…maybe, just maybe, I could crank out 5-6000 words over a few hours and catch up to where I should be.

Guess what? Didn’t happen. There was so much that needed doing around here that’s been neglected for months (including this blog) that I spent until 1:00 taking care of those things. It’s just after 2:00 now. I guess I’m going to have to bite the bullet, admit this is harder than it would appear to be and buckle down to get somewhere close to the mark over the next several days.

I’m not giving up! I hope, before Christmas, to present you all with another Morelville Mystery of the Mel and Dana type you all know and seem to love. please bear with me as I remain less communicative here to get that done. I hope you’ll look forward to reading ‘A Crane Christmas’ , Book 6 in the series, in December.

 

 

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in A Crane Christmas, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

