My 3 Most Popular Blog Posts to Date

It’s a funny thing, when you’re an author, you get two kinds of blog readers; you get the readers who want to know about you and your work and you get readers who are also authors who are interested in what you have to say in a different context as in, how your sales are going, or what you do to market your work, etc. Lately, I’ve been dividing my time between writing books and working on my wife’s lifelong dream of owning and operating a haunted house. Both are all consuming an so you can imagine that I’m pretty tired. I’ve had little time left for things like blogging and, as a result, I’ve slipped to communicating with you this way to once a week or less.

I was looking through emails the other day and something in one of them drove me to my dashboard here. As before when I’ve dropped by, I noticed what the top posts have been. Shockingly, or perhaps not, is that the number one post has been for some time and continues to be this one:

1. The First Lesfic Story I Ever Wrote

Spoiler alert – It’s about Jo and Blair of ‘The Facts of Life’ (1980’s) fame. The story hasn’t been released for publication and it never will be but people just keep finding that post. There’s an awful lot of people out there who want to read about Jo and Blair. They’re vocal about it too…I wrote that post in April. I still get emails and people asking me to release the story.

2. New Ideas for LesFic – Someone Write These Stories Please!

In keeping with a LesFic theme, as almost all of my novel readers and more than half of my blog readers seem to be of the lesbian persuasion, the second most read post is me grousing (politely) over having nothing new and interesting to read when I take a break from writing. When I wrote the post, I linked to it from several Facebook boards and from Twitter. My Facebook wall lit up with people telling me they’d already written the very books I was wishing for or recommending books to me. Maybe I ought to compile a list of those and revisit the post, eh?

3. On Writing: Having More Than One Protagonist

My first book, Relic, has dual protagonists. In it, I have two main characters with two very different goals, in parallel plot lines, coming together at times whether they like or not, to each solve their own problems. Most of what goes on with one character, until at least half way through the book, has nothing to do with the other character. As the author, I was in the heads of both characters as I told the story. I did my absolute best to make sure the reader always knew who’s head they were currently in as they read. Still, I had readers that got it and loved it and readers that didn’t get it and/or didn’t care for it. I was taken to task more than once over it in reviews on Amazon and on Goodreads. Obviously, given the references I site in this post, I’m not alone in having more than one main character/protagonist running through the pages.

Honorable Mention: This post from August 7th, 2015 has been bubbling to the top some lately. It might have a little staying power too, it would appear, and like a couple of the others, it’s about lesbian fiction too: On Reading: Why Lesbian Fiction Will Change Your Life.

 

 

 

 

 

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Musings, On Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

