New Ideas for LesFic – Someone Write These Stories Please!

I write lesbian themed mysteries that some would call romantic suspense novels. Regardless of what you term them, I’m not alone in writing them. There are lots of mystery writers out there who write books with strong lesbian characters as the main character or characters. Check out Megan Casey’s Lesbian Mysteries group on Goodreads and her list of 250+ known authors of such books for an idea of just how strong the genre is.

Even more popular than lesbian themed mysteries with lesbian and bi fans of lesfic is, of course, lesbian themed romance. These stories are all about being lesbian and in a lesbian relationship which is natural for a romance. The fact of being lesbian though is either all consuming in other stories about us and affects every single thing in the story or it’s a minor detail to make a character in an otherwise heterosexual oriented novel (or one that has nothing whatsoever to do with sex) seem more unique or more interesting.

I’m going to keep writing what I write because it’s what I write best and what I like to write. I like to read lots of different things though. Lots of lesfic readers out there, myself included would like to see more books about us that reach beyond the romance and mystery genres. Of my thoughts below, many have a book or two that fills the bill but, frankly, that’s all. There are lots of women out there that would read lesfic with these sorts of themes if they were available:

  • Angst and Tragedy – A lesbian Romeo and Juliet set in medieval times or the present day. No happy ending.
  • Civil conflict – I’m not talking about writing LGBT history or herstory. I’m talking about fiction that involves civil conflict. Lesbians, young and old living, loving and fighting for a/the cause.
  • Combat – There’s so much you could do with this theme: historic, contemporary, futuristic, all girl combat units, lesbians in love in a war zone, lesbians serving in an LGBT unfriendly country…and yes, I have read the work of Catherine Wilson. I want more!
  • Death Match – Lesbians fighting to the death over a cause, over love or for honor. No happy ending.
  • Fantasy – An all lesbian or lesbian ruled society with lots of world building (preferably as a trilogy)
  • Friendship – Complicated, interwoven lesbian friendships without a romantic element – a buddy book with a more literary slant. No U-Hauls.
  • Geekdom – High school, college and beyond, geek themes abound. How about a lesbian computer geek saves the world book or high school or college band lesbians for a YA book?
  • Lesbian MermaidsMermaids – Lesbian mermaids…what else do I need to tell you?
  • Reincarnation – A current, well known (pick one) lesbian author is actually the most recent in a line of reincarnated lesbian authors. Start with Sappho and work your way forward through time. You can bend dates of birth and death just a little if the story is good!
  • Stasis – Sci-fi genre: A girl or young woman exhibits lesbian tendencies. Parents have her committed to stasis until she can be ‘cured’. Years later, a judge orders her released. Craziness ensues.
  • Supernatural – Lesbians with super powers
  • Lesbian WitchesWitches – Lesbian with magical powers set in the modern day (very contemporary and not dark)
  • Unlikely Hero – Femme lesbian saving her butch girlfriend from pure evil
  • Lesbian Zombie KillerZombies/Zombie Apocalypse – Personally, I’m not a fan of the whole zombie craze but lots of people are and lots of lesbians are. You might just get me to read a zombie story that featured a hoard of marauding lesbian zombies or a gang of disparate lesbians that must band together to stop the apocalypse.

Would someone please write one or three of these? Anybody?

 

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Ideas for LesFic – Someone Write These Stories Please!

  1. How about lesbian Regency-era fantasy with adventure and politics and both intense friendships plus a bit of romance and magic and mysticism and brainy women arguing philosophy and the complications of hiding a forbidden relationship in plain sight and an epic multi-volume sweep of history?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to see I cover a lot of these themes. Civil conflict: check. Combat: check. Fantasy: check. Friendship: check. Reincarnation: check. Supernatural: check. Unlikely hero: check. Apocalypse: check. Hey, I’m not doing too bad then! (: My books can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/Natasja-Hellenthal/e/B00CMNVPX4/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anne Hagan says:

      I replied to you on Facebook. I fully admit that I haven’t previously read any of your work. In my defense, I’ve been pretty busy writing since last June but, I have managed to squeeze in a little pleasure reading (and quite a bit of marketing and publishing reading) in that time too so it’s not a very good excuse. I intend to give your stuff a look very soon. Book five should be off to edit in a week or so and I’ll be at loose ends for a couple of days!

      Like

  3. Evie Collins says:

    I actually just wrote a supernatural themed book myself! Equipped with college-aged lesbians and everything, lol

    http://www.amazon.com/Fever-Fox-Kitsune-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B010W01GGE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1438696027&sr=8-1&keywords=fever+of+the+fox

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lisemactague says:

    My On Deception’s Edge trilogy hits on your combat, civil, and fantasy themes. It’s a scifi series set on two planets, one that is completely male-dominated and misogynistic, and the other which has been settled by lesbians, for lesbians. The main characters are Jak, a sniper, and Torrin, an intergalactic smuggler. Book 1, Depths of Blue is out and book 2 will be released in November. As far as angst and tragedy go, one of my current WIPs (is that the proper way to pluralize that?, oh well…) is a re-imagining of Snow White, not R&J, but there is plenty of angst and tragedy there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anne Hagan says:

      Awesome! These sound great. I’ll take a look at book one and wait impatiently for book 2. That’s one thing I’ve learned the past year, get them out quick. I’m planning a spin off cozy series to my Lesfic mystery series (that continues too) and I really want to have books 1-3 ready to go within a week or so of each other. No sleep for authors!

      Like

  5. jpgaltmiller says:

    You wanted it. You got it: Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space!

    http://www.lesbianzombies.com

    (Though true marauding doesn’t happen until Issue #2.)

    Like

  6. rhavensfyre says:

    Actually, Rhavensfyre has written and is writing a ZA series!!

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      I became aware of that after I’d created this post nearly a year ago. I love that you’re doing that. There are actually a few others out there but it’s really still a baby ‘genre’ in the realm of lesfic.

      Like

Comments?

