Oh My Word, It’s Graduation Season!

GraduationNothing is harder than trying to write when there are so many distraction s besides all of the usual culprits (family, Facebook, etc.)! June is here and with it, the season of graduations, showers and weddings.

My own son graduated from high school a couple of years ago. I breathed a major sigh of relief then thinking that I was, for the most part, done with all of that. Sadly, it’s worse now. We’ve moved since he graduated and we live in close proximity to most of my spouses immediate family. We see all of them including our nieces and nephews frequently (2 are great nephews that we babysit often).

Two of our nieces graduated high school this year. Somehow we got roped into having the party for one of them at our house and it’s now become a party for both of them. That’s two high school graduations. Additionally we were invited to the high school graduation parties of the children of two close family friends, of a cousin on my spouse’s side and to a nursing school graduation celebration (in conjunction with one of those high school parties). That’s six total! As if that weren’t enough, we have a baby shower for another family friend this month too.

On top of all of that, we know a couple getting married soon in an informal ceremony but there will be a shower for the bride to be coming up so we’re waiting on that invite. And, finally, late in the month we’re hosting a benefit dinner to raise funds for my nephew’s all of 23 year old girlfriend who’s hospitalized and fighting for her life with a rare blood cancer that has induced multiple complications.

June is just a crazy month! It always has been but this is the worst I can remember it being. Every day of every weekend is spoken for. On the 27th, we pick up my mom for her annual week long visit. It’s a time we all look forward to. We take vacation time and go and do things around the area that we never get to do otherwise and she gets a break from the everyday of life where she lives. Dad takes a golf vacation every year with my brothers and his brothers. Mom likes the break with him out of the house but she usually works through it because of the time that they take it. Coming here is her time to relax. I want to be able to devote time to her and not be thinking about how I should be finishing getting the latest book out. I’m off to work on it some more.

You may only hear from me fleetingly in the next couple of weeks. I’ve got to make time for book stuff during the week since the weekends are all jam packed. Enjoy the summer!

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

