The First Lesfic Story I Ever Wrote

I previously mentioned that I came to be a reader of lesbian fiction (Lesfic) by way, about 11 or 12 years ago, of fan fiction websites and, later, through sites devoted to presenting free,  original fem slash content. I first stumbled onto lesbian themed fan fiction while I was looking for something completely different that had nothing to do with any sort of fan fiction, lesbian themed or otherwise.

The first site I found was Live Journal (LJ). It still exists and people are still there cranking out fan fiction and original fiction but it’s really hard to unearth anything there any more. The site seems to cater to Eastern Block readers now. Anyway, LJ led me to sites like The Academy of Bards (which now exists as an alt/uber clickable list of stories that can’t be sorted by genre or category), The Atheaeum (which still operates as Xenafiction.net) and  Passion and Perfection (which has always operated as RALST.com). I’m sure there were others too. So many of the sites in those days though were almost completely devoted to Xena and Gabrielle Lesfic stories and I just wasn’t that into that show and the Alt stories it inspired so I’ve lost the links to those sites over time.

One day, back in the heyday of Live Journal, I ran across a ‘The Facts of Life’ fem slash story featuring blonde socialite, Blair and her tough girl from the Bronx schoolmate, Jo. The show had been a favorite guilty pleasure of mine in the years immediately following high school for me because I crushed big time on Jo…If I’d of known then what I didn’t figure out for another 20 years…

I gobbled up everything I found related to ‘The Facts of Life’ on LJ and then I started hammering the search engines looking for other F/F fiction about them, especially the racier stuff where they were out of high school…ahem. As time went on, it got harder and harder to feed my addiction to the Blair and Jo stories because the show had been out of original production for years and re-runs had started to taper off too. RALST still has a great selection of ‘The Facts of Life’ stories, with a very occasional new one added, but most of the writers of that stuff have long since moved on with their lives or, at least, with the shows that they watch and make up ‘what if‘ stories about. As I thought about it, I came to think, ‘I can probably write this stuff myself’ especially when it came to ‘The Facts of Life’. I knew those characters inside and out.

I tossed story ideas around in my head for a time and then one evening about 2005 or ’06, while watching a re-run episode of the show, I caught in the opening credits Nancy McKeon in her role as ‘Jo’ holding up a ‘Merry Wives of Windsor’ sign. The Shakespeare play was one of many school productions the girls were involved in, no doubt to feed story lines for the Kim Fields played character, Tootie (Dorothy) Ramsey.

Jo of 'The Facts of Life' played by Nancy McKeon

Nancy McKeon as ‘Jo’ in ‘The Facts of Life’

I looked up the play, read it and the jig was on. I wrote a story based around the girls performing in the play: Tootie becomes injured and her understudy Blair must step into the role of Anne. Anne’s true love interest in the play is Fenton who is played by a young man from Bates academy until he becomes sick and loses his voice during the presentation to the student bodies. There was no understudy for Fenton but Jo helped Blair run lines when Blair had to step in for Tootie and work on a brief kissing scene that I took a tiny little bit of literary license to include in the play (no such thing happened in plays in Shakespeare’s time because all of the parts were played by men…but imagine if it had!). Jo ends up stepping in for Fenton for the evening public performance. I won’t go into all of the nitty gritty details but I’m sure you can see where I was going with it.

I finished the story. I never published it. I recently found it again when I was cleaning old files off of a flash drive. It’s not bad but it was set up for Live Journal or Ralst and not for publication on a more modern day blog. Besides…I doubt there are many 40+ fans out there interested in a story about two high school aged girls of the 1980s sharing their first girl/girl kisses and those of you that are younger than 40 who read my stuff probably don’t have a clue what I’ve been rambling on about. That story will stay safely on my flash drive!

What’s the first Lesfic story you ever wrote?

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in On Reading, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The First Lesfic Story I Ever Wrote

  1. Gin says:

    There are tons of us who adore Facts of Life fic, Jo/Blair specifically. Which is why I made them characters in my Devil Wears Prada fanfiction… Post it on Ralst’s site. Use an alias if you must… good, new, FoL fiction is so few and far between we hate to hear about it just sitting, hidden away, on someone’s hard drive!

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      Thanks Gin for your input. I just may post the story one day. It needs a little bit of formatting work that I don’t have the time to do right now as my third Dana/Mel novel is due out within the next week or so and the 4th book is in the works. We’ll see about getting it out there for Summer. It’s good to know that there are interested fans out there!

      Like

  2. It’s a very interesting moment when you find old stuff that you have written a long time ago. It makes you nostalgic but it also allows you to see how much you sucked at writing back then 🙂

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      You are quite right. It was interesting and it did suck a little. It wasn’t horrible because I stayed true to the characters in the show but, compared to where I am today, it was pretty amateur. Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. asells88 says:

    If you haven’t posted it already, PLEASE post it. We won’t judge! LOL We’d be happy just to have some more Facts of Life fanfics out there. I’ve read through pretty much everything. Haha. I’m begging you lol. ❤ Xo

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      Maybe someday I will as I really do still have it. It’s not formatted at all for posting though and it’s not something I can take the time to do right now, unfortunately. I’ll certainly work on it when I get a chance, how about that? By the way, I do have to say that it’s pretty tame. I wrote it as an adult but the girls are still in high school in the story.

      Like

  4. Pingback: The Pictures that Speak to Me as a Writer | Anne Hagan

  5. Pingback: My 3 Most Popular Blog Posts to Date | Anne Hagan

  6. GinRickey says:

    I hope you decide to publish, that sounds like a wonderful premise and I’d love to read it! I recently started writing for Jo/Blair, my stuff is on fanfiction.net and I’ve begun to crosspost to Archive of Our Own, if you’d like to check it out There is actually a fairly sizeable community of all ages interested in FOL stuff (including the “racy” stuff you mentioned)! (Btw, im not the Gin that posted below, but how weird is that?

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      If I ever publish it Gin, it’s a long way off. It’s not ready for prime time and I’ve got works in progress on two different series right now. I’m not thinking I ever will but you never know! I will check out your fanfiction however because I always enjoy reading Facts of Life stuff. I well know that the community is sizeable because this is, by far, one of the most popular posts on my site!

      Like

  7. tracey says:

    I love Jo/blair fanfiction. I write it myself. Im in my late 30’s and even though yes the characters tend to be the young adult jo/blair, that is who we grew up with so that is who we see when we are writting. Keep it up!!

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      There has always been a trickle of hits to this post but, these past few weeks, it’s getting daily views and sometimes multiple views per day. I recently realized that “The Facts of Life” reruns are now playing frequently on cable networks. They seem to make a comeback every 5 years or so. This time around, it’s mostly them in their older years, when Jo and Blair are at Langley College. Those are the early 80’s, ‘Big Hair’ years.

      Like

Comments?

