Banish the Naysayers!

No NaysayersSometimes we have to let negative people have their say but that doesn’t mean we always have to listen to them.

Last night we had our second community meeting about purchasing an abandoned school building from the school district that owns it and turning it into a community center for our little village. The deal is under way. Our one dollar nominal buying cost has been paid. The meeting was to marshal more community support and to disseminate the most recent information. Enter the naysayers.

Our erstwhile community business man with ulterior motives showed up again and, this time, he brought even more reinforcements. Last time around he and his brother tried to convince the community not to buy the building. This time he brought his dad and uncle along for the ride too. Another negative community member was also present who also has ulterior motives for wanting the property for himself. None of the five men had a positive thing to say the entire meeting. They refused any form of monetary support, made doom and gloom predictions and kept pushing for the team heading up the purchase process to divulge an exit strategy for when, not ‘if’ the venture fails (one is in the works but that wasn’t the point of the meeting).

So here we had this group of people last night that was excited and engaged. They were ready to talk about writing bylaws and electing a board for the 501 C3 we’re forming and none of that got done because every time someone tried to move the conversation in a positive direction our five naysayers (there was another community member present who also has ulterior motives for entirely different reasons) stepped in with questions and comments that had no positive spin. Since there is no formal structure in place, it was hard for the meeting leader to control their floor time to speak so they just kept interrupting and jumping in.

People in the community are aware that these five men don’t have the best interests of the community at heart. Those that live in the village know what’s really at play here. They’re not swaying anyone’s opinion. They’re just talking and we’re all hearing it because we’re a captive audience but we don’t agree with them. Unfortunately, their disruptions are hampering the true process and that seems to be their new goal. It sure worked for them last night.

At some point, we need to move forward as a community and elect a board who can then hold formal meetings. Once we’re having real meetings, the naysayers will have to request agenda time and they’ll be limited to a few minutes each to speak their minds. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could take negative people and schemers out of the mix entirely?

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Haunting, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Banish the Naysayers!

  1. Democracy at work. 🙂

    Like

  2. 下品 says:

    Excellent article. I’m dealing with many of these issues
    as well..

    Like

  3. First off I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you
    do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.

    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Appreciate it!

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      This particular blog post was a result of something that really happened that was upsetting at the time and a point of frustration. It just flowed. That said, I feel your pain. Just writing the average post isn’t always easy. I write novels and plot them out in a template to use as a guide the whole way through and still, there are days when the writing just doesn’t come when I first sit down to do it.

      I have a couple of things I do:

      1. When I’m writing a post for this blog or an article or some other such thing and I just don’t know where to begin, I step away and do something else for 10 or 15 minutes and just clear the decks. I have dogs so I’ll take them outside and let them sniff around the yard for a while. This clears the cobwebs for me and, when I come back in, I usually have the spark of something to work from.
      2. With the novels, because I work from a template, if I’m staring at the blank opening of a chapter, trying to figure out how to weave what I’ve outlined that chapter needs to impart, I’ll just scroll on down to a chapter further along and pick an ‘easy’ scene from it to work on. I love writing dialog so I often jump to some of that and crank out a full scene. Once I’m done with that, the juices are flowing and I can scroll back up to where I left off.

      Good luck with your writing. I’m always happy to answer any questions that I can.

      Like

Comments?

