On Writing: My Book Writing Area Sucks!

One of the key components for an author to be able to write on a consistent basis it to have a comfortable place to write that’s geared toward their own preferences. It doesn’t have to be large, it doesn’t have to be well decorated or even particularly inspiring but it does have to be a place where the stress of the environment isn’t a factor and they’re free to do nothing but write.

My own writing space in no way resembles that description. As I write this post, I’m not even in it. Instead, I’m sitting on the sofa in my living room, feet up, laptop in my lap tapping away at the keyboard while my spouse naps to the sound of the television. I just can’t deal with my so-called ‘office’ on this cold winter day when I’m only a couple of chapters from finishing my second mystery novel.

Why don’t I want to be in my writing space? Why do I say it sucks? Here’s why:

Anne's OfficeAnne's Office 2

Uggh! Right? Believe me, I’m not a hoarder. In my home, only my office is like that. You see, I used to be an eBay seller. I still actually have a few listings. It’s something I loved and something that made me money. When we moved into this house in late 2013, I made a conscious decision to scale back my eBay business and focus on my writing. I was losing interest in the constant drudgery that selling hard goods online had become.

I set up my office, listed a few sure winners I had on hand, packed the rest away and then started to focus more on the article writing that I was already doing and laying out my first novel. My previous reputation as a good eBay consignment seller caught up with me though. I took on a small consignment of racing memorabilia for a friend. Not long after that, another friend called lamenting about her failed garage sale. She wanted to know if I wanted to come and take a look and consign a few things for her. I ended up picking up a car load of scuba gear and some other high value stuff. Once that was all listed and sold I thought I was done with it.

A month after I’d moved most of the scuba gear and a few other things for far better than garage sale prices, my friend pulled into my driveway in her SUV and foisted off all of the stuff I didn’t take previously when I only had my car. She’d driven well over an hour to get to me. I was stuck. I went ahead and took the stuff. It’s about half of what you see  in the pictures.

In late summer of 2014, my sister-in-laws own in-laws closed out a relatives estate with an auction of the family home and all of the contents. For whatever reason, the auctioneer didn’t touch the contents of a single car garage, a shed or any of the items on the enclosed back porch. It’s like they started at the front of the house, worked through it to the kitchen at the back and then called it a day. The porch was behind the kitchen and the shed and garage were steps from the porch. They asked if I could come and look at what was there and take anything that had value to sell for them.

Out of the goodness of my heart or because I’m a sucker for punishment, I went over there. The garage was filled with treasure…dirty, smelly in bad need of cleaning treasure. Six of us dug through there for well over an hour. Then we hit the shed and porch. I filled the back seat and the bed of a short bed pick up with stuff and left a lot that we just couldn’t take. My sister-in-law took a few things for her own use and her in-laws packed a bunch in their SUV for me to get later.

Much of what you see in the picture and a whole bunch packed away that you can’t see came from that ‘consignment’. Unfortunately, life got in the way shortly after I took that consignment in. Very little of it got listed. It’s just sitting there taking up space and cluttering up my writing space and my life. Eventually, when the winter weather breaks in Ohio, we’ll have a big yard sale, sell what we can and donate the rest. All of the money and the charity write off will go to my cosigner minus a small commission for my trouble and grief for me.

Watch here in May or June for transformation pictures. I can hardly wait but, for now, I’ll continue to do my writing in my living room and my kitchen.

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

