Why Facebook Fan Pages Are Useless for Debut Authors

My first book was released in November of 2014. I started a Facebook fan page just before the release. Again, as with Twitter (see my January 29th, 2015 post), I was working off of the advice of supposed author marketing gurus. I created that fan page with high hopes of using it to connect with readers and conversing with them. I linked to it from the back of my book and I’ve linked to it from this site. You can see my fan page right here, if you like.

If you clicked the link and went to my page, then you’re probably only one of 4 or 5 people today to do that. I’ve worked myself up to 189 ‘likes’. Though I try and post something at least several times a week, only one or two of those people that like the page ever sees my posts and few of those that have liked it have come back to visit it. No one looks at it.

Now, if I were not so research minded, I would think this strange that all of these people took the time to like my fan page but then none of them ever visit, comment on my posts or even like any of them. Sadly, the reason they never do any of that is because they don’t have any idea that I’m posting anything. Facebook doesn’t auto post stuff from fan pages to the news feeds of those who liked you as they do with individuals pages for those who are your friends.

Facebook doesn’t promote your fan page posts to more than a couple to a small handful of your followers (those ‘likes’) unless you pay to ‘boost’ them. You can post all of the stuff you want. It’s going on almost no ones news feed unless you want to spend what few if any advertising dollars you have to promote that post by boosting it to a target audience that you choose based on how much you can afford to pay. The effectiveness of these boosts, by the way, is subject to much debate. Most former users will tell you that they got little bang for their buck.

Unlike Thumbs Down

That’s not the only problem with having a fan page as a debut author…or, really, as an author at any experience level. There are other things you can’t do with it to connect with potential readers (ahem, ‘fans’). You can’t participate in groups using it because it’s not a personal profile and only profile users have access to groups. Using my personal page, I participate in a number of reader/author groups in my genre. Because Anne Hagan is a pen name that I use for my writing for multiple reasons, my personal profile and my fan page don’t have any connection. I have to divulge my pen name when I’m talking about my books in my groups.

I could certainly resolve my dilemma by either not using a pen name (not feasible at this time) or by creating a personal profile using my pen name. I ask, how authentic would that be? I would have one profile for my friends and my family and another completely different one for readers and other authors. I also have to marvel at the time I’d be spending on social media interacting with people and not writing. Indie authors must do both of course but without the writing, the interaction with fans is meaningless.

My advice? Skip the fan page. Instead:

  • Use your personal profile to connect with your potential readers.
  • If you have a pen name, share it when you’re comfortable doing so.
  • Join some groups and be an active participant in two or three that fit you best by posting something once or twice a week. Answer questions, ask questions or just converse with other group members about the topics at hand when you stop by.

That’s how you can talk directly to your readers and to other writers. Just say no to the Facebook fan page. You’ve got writing to do!

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Book Marketing, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why Facebook Fan Pages Are Useless for Debut Authors

  1. I’ve been struggling with the same issue. Thanks for such and insightful article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Why Goodreads is Important for New Authors | Anne Hagan

  3. Jen Silver says:

    Thanks for this, Anne. I had wondered about setting up a Fan Page but then I was getting asked to ‘like’ other people’s pages. I didn’t mind doing this but then realised I didn’t visit these pages unless prompted. I figured It was better to try and keep my blog going which is something I can post and share on FB and Twitter.

    Like

    • Anne Hagan says:

      It’s amazing how many books on marketing recommend doing one, almost by rote but they don’t tell you that as a new author and, especially as a new indie author, that you’ll struggle for fans and for visibility. Your point that you don’t visit them unless prompted is a valid one. I don’t either. Nobody does unless they’re searching for the page of a well known author to seek new release info or some other such thing. Some of the bestselling authors I enjoy have pages and some don’t. Of the ones that do, it’s quite obvious that only a few personally post to their page. Most of them use the page very formally. It’s probably maintained by someone at their publishing house and not by them…

      Like

  4. Pingback: On Self Publishing: Top Ten Lessons I’ve Learned…So Far | Anne Hagan

Comments?

