The War on Drugs

I’m a few chapters into my 2nd novel in the Morelville Mysteries series now. I’ve managed to kill off a character and to start building the mystery surrounding that. Without going into a lot of detail (no spoilers here!), one of the keys to that tale will involve illegal drugs and drug trafficking. In my imagination, I had a pretty good idea where I wanted to go with that particular story line. One of my leading ladies, Dana, is a Customs special agent. A drug trafficking story line is made for her line of work.

A couple of nights ago, when my spouse turned in early and I wasn’t at all tired, I stayed up flipping television channels. I ran across the show ‘Drugs Inc.’. I ended up spending the next two plus hours staring at the tube in stunned amazement. I’d seen programs in the past about the war on drugs but I’d never seen this program which is a bit different. It goes inside the drug trade and shows a lot of what’s going on from the point of view of successful drug dealers on the street level. Some junkies and addicts manage to make it on camera too.

Now, I’m not naive nor was I born yesterday. I’m well aware that illegal and illicit drugs are big business. I also know that there are drugs out there that are in huge demand that I’ve never even heard of. The first show that I saw from about 10 minutes in focused on one of those drugs, NMDA and especially Ketamine. It’s in high demand and causing major law enforcement headaches in Canada and it’s spreading rapidly in the U.S.

The next episode was all about the trade of ‘Molly’ a very pure form of the club/rave scene drug, Ecstasy. Anyone who’s lived in a major metro area for any length of time has heard of that, seen it used or knows someone who uses it. Molly is just the most recent, in high demand, iteration of that. This most pure form of an otherwise synthetic drug has a basis in sassafras oil that comes from trees found only in Thailand. It’s widespread use is causing multiple problems internationally.

While I watched, I surfed the net looking up these drugs with regard to their effect on the users and their capability to produce an OD, among other things. The things that I found were as stunning to me as what I was seeing play across the television screen. Everything gave me much pause but it also made me start re-thinking my story. There are so many different places to take it now that I hadn’t the faintest notion of when I started planning it that it’s almost scary.

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Books, Busy Bees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

