On Having a Best Seller

I’m a newly published author. Relic is my first book for public consumption. Like all authors, I have high hopes for it to do well mixed with quite a dose of skepticism that it will find an audience among the other million plus fiction titles out there for the Kindle, many of which are by authors far better known than I might ever, in my wildest dreams, hope to be. Imagine my surprise and total delight when I woke up this morning and, while checking it’s ranking, I found it was number one in it’s main category, Mystery/Gay & Lesbian, over books by authors I’ve read – practically worshiped – for years. To say I was dumbfounded would be an understatement!

It’s heady to be in the company of such well known LGBT authors as Josh Lanyon, JAE, Donna Leon and so many more. It’s absolutely thrilling, however briefly that it happens… and it was brief, to best them all for just a little bit. I’m delighted that I got to see my 15 minutes of so called fame and that I had the chance to print the screen shots for prosperity.

Actually, I owe a debt of gratitude to those authors. For a couple of years, I ran an LGBT book review website. I read lots of their stuff and tons of other stuff by many well known, mainstream published authors and by many, many indie authors. I wasn’t doing reviews of the works of a lot of eBook only self published authors at the time though for reasons beyond my control. My whole world changed about a year ago though and I got to read lots of self published fiction by dozens of great authors. I found a world I’d been missing and one I wanted to join. After much encouragement, I started writing with the intent to produce something that I would actually want published. Relic is the result.

Relic isn’t high art. It isn’t destined to be a literary classic. It’s fiction in pulp form for the masses. In other words, it’s the type of book that most readers choose to read. My fear wasn’t that there was no market but, rather, that it wasn’t any good. When I woke up this morning and saw that “Number 1” rating, I realized that it was, at least, good enough and that’s awesome to me.

Back to the grindstone for me… only it’s so much less like work than any job I’ve ever had!

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Musings, On Writing, Relic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Having a Best Seller

Comments?

