Release of “Relic: The Morelville Mysteries – Book 1”

“Relic”, my first published book and the first, I hope, in a series of mystery fiction books is a story that’s been in my head in one form or fashion for at least the last couple of years. I’ve always been a fan of detective fiction, mysteries and, in a leap not so far, of legal thrillers. I’ve also always been something of a hobby writer. So often, I would find myself reading something – especially the pulp type stuff like Relic is, and I’d say to myself, “I could have written that!” or, “She should have said this…”. One day, I decided to get off my high horse and prove to myself that I really could put enough words on paper to end up with a decent book.

I’ve found, by doing it myself, that it’s definitely not as easy as some authors make it look! How do they crank out book after book? I started Relic in June of this year with a full outline. I really knew where I wanted the story to go and how I wanted to get there. I planned on having it done by the end of July and published some time in August. Ha! Fat chance! It was finally published November 9th.

Keeping all the threads of a mystery story in order is hard, hard work! It takes so much time to go back and fact check yourself. You have to tweak a date here to make it jive with one there… You have change the location of “X” character at a given point in time because you need him to be somewhere specific 10 minutes or paragraphs later… It just goes on and on and then, when you think you’ve got all the technical stuff all figured out, you have to come up with a satisfying ending that either ties up all the loose ends completely or ties up most of them and leaves one or two things hanging for the next book.

The writing process is so taxing – in, don’t get me wrong, a wonderful way – that I’d love to give my brain a rest but, alas, I can’t. The next story in the Morelville Mysteries series is banging away at my temples, begging to be written. I’m getting started on it though I’m sure what I’ll end up with in a couple of months (I hope no longer than that) won’t be quite the same story as what it’s shaping up to be right now. It just doesn’t seem to work quite that way.

“Relic”, my first baby, is available for sale on Amazon right now. There will be a free promo of it somewhere down the line too, but not just yet. If you get a chance to give it a look, please stop back by and let me know what you thought of it.

Relic Book Cover

About Anne Hagan

I'm an East Central Ohio based government employee by day and a fiction author by night. I specialize in mystery fiction featuring lesbian sleuths and cozy fiction featuring women sleuths. I also dabble in romance especially romantic lesfic. I live with my wife and our dogs in a tiny town that’s even smaller than the Morelville of my first fiction series and we wouldn't have it any other way. My wife grew up here and she has always called this little village home. Though it’s an ultra-conservative rural community, we're surrounded here by family, longtime friends and many other wonderful people with open hearts and minds. My wife and I are the co-owners of a commercial haunted house: Hagan's House of Horrors. Much as my dream has always been to write fiction, hers has been to create it through the medium of horror. We went full commercial in 2015. Watch us as we grow!
This entry was posted in Books, On Writing, Relic. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

